INTRO: I had a client get very irate the other day when he got a bill for “filing fees” in his divorce case, I guess I don’t blame him the local filing fee for Blue Earth County is now $390 plus the $7 law library fee. That’s not a small amount of money anymore. With this as the backdrop I thought I’d discuss what filing fees are in Minnesota divorces. There was a time, long, long ago, when you paid $52 to start a divorce in Minnesota. Then came Governor Pawlenty. While, the facts do show that filing fees did […]

Read more ›